Author Press Books

Book Details

Representation Of History In The Indian/English Drama

Authored By: Basavaraj Naikar

Publisher:  Authorspress

ISBN-13: 9788172737955

Year of Publication: 2015

Pages: 490

                                       Binding: Hardback(HB)

Category:  English Literature

Price in Rs. 1330.00

                             Price in (USA) $. 106.4

Inclusive of All Taxes (After 30% Discount on the Printed Price)

Book Description

Book Contents


About the Book


The present volume deals with the topics like history and historioraphy in the Indian context and discusses some of the significant works of the historical dramatists of India like Sri Aurobindo, Harindranath Chattopadhyaya, M.M.Kalburgi, Indira Parthasarathy, Girish Karnad, Partap Sharma, Lakhan Deb, Gurucharan Das and Manohar Malgaonkar, which are unfortunately neglected by the Indian scholars.

This volume offers in-depth textual analyses of the famous historical plays like Siddhartha: Man of Peace, Rodogune, Prince of Edur, Fall of Kalyana, Ramanujar, Tughlaq, Aurangzeb, Begum Sumroo, Tiger Claw, The Dreams of Tipu Sultan, Lains Sahib and Line of Mars.

About the Author


Basavaraj Naikar (1949- ) M.A., Ph.D., D. Litt (California), former Professor and Chairman of the Department of English at Karnatak University, Dharwad, INDIA, is presently Professor Emeritus at the same University. A bilingual writer, he has published many translations and critical works like Paduvana Nadina Premavira, Huchchuhole, Kollada Neralu, Jogibhavi, Govardhanaram, Nigudha Saudha, Kannada Asangata Natakagalu, Beowulf, Asangata, Samrachanavada, Gilgamesh Mahakavya, Bharatiya English Sahitya Charitre, Sri Kanakadasaru, Siddhanta mattu Prayoga, Swatantryada Kanasugara, Kempu Kanigilu mattitara Natakagalu, Swatantrya Bhaskara, Androsina Kanye mattu Phormio and Kitturina Virarani in Kannada.

 Likewise he has published critical works like Sarvajna: The Omniscient Poet of Karnataka, Critical Articles on Nirad C. Chaudhuri, Shakespeare’s Last Plays: A Study of Epic Affirmation, The Folk-Theatre of North Karnataka, Kanakadasa: The Golden Servant of Lord Hari, Critical Response to Indian English Literature, Perspectives on Commonwealth Literature, Indian Literature in English Translation, The Glimpses of Indian Literature in English Translation, The Literary Vision, The Dramatic Imagination, The Dramatic Vision and The English Literature in India.

He has published English translations like Musings of Sarvajna, Beloved Poems, Fall of Kalyana, Sangya Balya: A Tale of Love and Betrayal, The Holy Water, The Vacanas of Sarvajna,and The Frolic Play of the Lord (Tr. of Prabhulinga Lile).

 He has edited Sparrows, Desert Blooms, Vatsalya, Sandalwood, Indian Response to Shakespeare,and Indian English Literature (Nine Volumes). He has published several research articles and reviews in national and international journals. He regularly reviews Indian books for World Literature Today, U.S.A.

His first short story collection entitled The Thief of Nagarahalli and Other Stories was short-listed for the Commonwealth Fiction Prize for the Best First Book from Eurasia in 2000. His second collection The Rebellious Rani of Belavadi and Other Stories was well received by critics. The Sun behind the Cloud is his first historical novel. His second novel, Light in the House, a philosophical novel deals with the life and mission of Sharif Saheb of Shishunala, an apostle of communal harmony between Hindus and Muslims. His English play A Dreamer of Freedom deals with the 1857 Indian War of Independence. His The Queen of Kittur (Novel), The Rani of Kittur (Play) and Rayanna, the Patriot and Other Novellas deal with historical, legendary and religious themes.

He has won the Gulbarga University Award, the Olive Reddick Award, the Gemini Academy Award, the Vasudeva Bhupalam Award and the Kuvempu Bhasha Bharati Award for his contribution to literature.

He has a passion for music and philosophy.